
“Laws for the punishment of crime 

shall be founded on the principles 

of prevention, reformation, public 

safety, and restitution for victims.”  

Montana Constitution  
Article II Section 8  

Why are my restitution checks always 

for different amounts? 

A: It’s possible the offender does not earn 

a consistent wage, lost his or her job or 

had a financial emergency. You may call 

the Department of Corrections (DOC) 

Collections Unit at (800) 801-3478 for 

more information. 

Why should I have to wait for my 

restitution just so the offender can pay 

his bills? 

A: Offenders on community supervision 

such as probation or parole must have a 

place to live, transportation to and from 

work, and money for food, clothing and 

medical care. Many have child support 

obligations. 

The offender owes me $20,000 and he 

only pays $50 a month. How can I get 

him to pay more? 

A: You may call DOC at (406) 444-3930 

and ask to talk to his or her supervising 

officer or case manager. The offender may 

be paying all he can based on his income. 

Their criminal records often limit offenders’ 

ability to find jobs that pay well. 

My offender supposedly can’t pay 

restitution but I know he owns property. 

What can I do? 

A: If you believe that the offender has 

financial resources he may not have 

disclosed, call the DOC at (406) 444-3930 

and ask to talk to his or her supervising 

officer. Profits from the sale of real estate 

sometimes can be collected for restitution. 
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Restitution Realities 

• Victims seldom receive restitution soon after 

the offender is sentenced unless he or she 

has financial resources such as property that 

can be sold, or bank accounts. 

• Restitution collection is often a slow process. 

It might be years before your first restitution 

check arrives.  

• Many offenders never pay the total amount of 

court-ordered restitution. 

• Prison jobs are scarce and do not pay much, 

so inmates may not have money for 

restitution. 

• Offenders on community supervision 

(prerelease,  probation and parole) typically 

have low-paying jobs, so restitution amounts 

may be small. 

• Offenders must pay their monthly living 

expenses and any court-ordered child 

support before they make a restitution 

payment. 

• In crimes involving more than one victim, 

restitution payments are divided among them. 

If the offender committed more than one 

crime, victims receive restitution in the order 

that the crimes occurred. 

• Offenders are seldom sent to prison for not 

paying restitution and they cannot be forced 

to pay more than they are able. 

• Once an offender’s sentence expires, 

restitution   collection is more difficult. 



The Basics of Restitution 

Restitution is the offender’s debt to you, 

the victim, for the losses you suffered 

because of a crime. Montana law entitles 

you to full restitution for expenses 

resulting from the crime.  

Expenses include: 

• Medical and dental bills 

• Mental health counseling 

• Stolen or damaged property 

• Lost wages  

• Travel and relocation costs 

• Future expenses related to the crime 

• Funeral costs for homicide victims 

Determining the actual amount of your 

loss will be easier if you keep copies of 

bills and receipts, and a list of all 

expenses related to the crime. 

Give copies of these records to the county 

attorney in charge of your case or a 

county victim advocate, who may ask you 

to fill out forms. Complete and return 

these forms as soon as possible, and be 

sure to make copies for yourself. 

Offenders work out payment schedules 

with their supervising officers. Payments 

go to the Department of Corrections 

(DOC) Restitution Collections Unit, which 

sends the money to victims either 

quarterly or when there is at least $25 to 

send.  
WHO TO CONTACT: 

 Restitution  Unit:    (800) 801-3478 
 

Department of Corrections  

Victim Services:     (888) 223-6332 

Sources of Restitution 
 

The sentencing judge orders offenders to pay 

full restitution. This obligation remains with the 

offender (or, should the offender die, with their 

estate) until the full amount is paid.  
 

Under Montana law, payment of restitution is 

a condition of any probation or parole. 
 

An offender’s obligation to pay victim 

restitution does not go away if he or she files 

bankruptcy, and continues when the offender 

is no longer under DOC supervision. 
 

A restitution order can be enforced against the 

estate of an offender who dies while owing 

restitution. 
 

Possible sources of money from offenders for 

victim restitution include: 

• Earned income, including voluntary or 

forced wage garnishment  

• Bank accounts 

• Profits from sale of real estate and other 

property 

• Prison inmate trust accounts 

• Money offenders receive as gifts from 

friends and family 

• State income tax refunds 

• Profits from the sale of crafts and artwork 

• Civil lawsuits (filed by victims) 

The Victim’s Responsibility 
 

To receive restitution, the DOC Collections 

Unit must have a completed W9 from the 

victim.  Restitution payments are not 

considered income. 
 

If the judge awarded you restitution and 

you have not received any checks, contact 

the DOC Collections Unit at (800) 801-

3478 to check on the status of your 

restitution.  If the DOC Collections Unit 

does not have your name or address, they 

will not be able to release a restitution 

payment. 
 

The DOC Restitution Collections unit 

disburses millions of dollars to victims 

every year.  

Make sure the unit has your current 

address. Call (800) 801-3478 to update 

your contact information. 

Sign up for Victim Notification 
 

To find the location or status of the 

offender, register for the VINE service to 

receive phone, email or text message 

notifications about the offender.  

 

To register, log onto www.vinelink.com, call 

VINE at (800) 456-3076 or download the 

free VINE mobile app. 
 

VINE: (800) 456-3076 


