Montana Correctional Enterprises Driver's License Coordinators

- * Chris Moore
- **★** Mark Lochrie

Replacement Social Security Card & Birth Certificate

*Anne Cole



Montana Correctional Enterprises provides meaningful education, work experience and transitional services to assist offenders reentering our communities become productive employees, good neighbors and taxpaying citizens, creating safer communities.



VISION

To promote and contribute to the success of individuals engaged with the Criminal Justice System while providing safety and security for victims and Montana communities.

MISSION

The Montana Department of Corrections enhances public safety, supports the victims of crime, promotes positive change in offender behavior, and reintegrates offenders into the community.

VALUES

We are <u>Professional</u> and <u>Respectful</u>. We work with the highest level of <u>Integrity</u> and <u>Dedication</u> to achieve Excellence.





DRIVER'S LICENSE
AND
PERSONAL DOCUMENTATION
PROGRAM

How to Obtain a Montana Driver's License or State of Montana Identification (ID) Card



ARE YOU IN NEED OF:

- ★ Montana Identification Card (must be within four years of release eligibility)
- **★** Montana Driver's License
 - New
 - ☆ Renewal
 - ☼ Replacement

PROCEDURE TO APPLY:

★ Send an Offender Staff Request (OSR) form to the MCE Driver's License Coordinator (MCE DLC) to request an application.

Ensure the OSR includes:

- \$\$ Specifically state what you are applying for.
- Information regarding whether you have a Social Security Card, Birth Certificate, Driver's License or other form of identification in MSP Records or with a family member.
- ★ Once you receive the Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) application, fill it out <u>completely</u>. Please request assistance through your case manager, if needed.
- ★ You will be required to pay for the cost of the Driver's License.
- ★ You will <u>not</u> be required to pay for the cost of the ID Card.

ONCE THE APPLICATION IS RECEIVED...

THE MCE DLC WILL:

- Perform a record check with the Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS).
- ★ Identify unpaid fines and fees, which will be required to be paid before a license can be issued.
- * Assist with letter writing to the court(s) of jurisdiction if there is a hold or suspension on your Driver's License. This must be satisfied.
- ★ To be issued a Montana Driver's License and/or Montana ID Card, the following is required:
 - ☆ Certified copy of birth certificate
 - Social Security Card
 - ☼ Proof of residency (which will be obtained by MCE DLC)

Your address will be: 700 Conley Lake Road Deer Lodge, MT 59722

You will need to personally appear at any Montana Driver's License Station to change your address upon release.

If you do <u>not</u> have a Social Security Card or certified copy of your Birth Certificate, proceed to the next section.





FEES VARY DEPENDING ON SERVICE:

- ★ Certified copy of Birth Certificate: Paid by IWF -No cost to offender
- **★** Replacement Social Security Card: <u>No</u> cost to offender
- **★** Montana Identification Card: No cost to offender
- ★ Montana Class D Driver's License: \$40.50 (length of license 8 years)
- ★ Montana Class D with motorcycle endorsement: \$44.50
- ★ Montana Real ID: \$25.50 in addition to regular fee (not currently available through MCE DLC)
- ★ Montana Commercial Driver's License: \$50.50 (length of license - 5 years)
- ★ Montana Commercial Driver's License with motorcycle endorsement: \$53.00

If you have completed Commercial Driver's License classes, or are renewing an existing CDL, you will also be required to pay for the cost of the Medical Examination Certification (MEC).