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I. POLICY

The Department of Corrections facilities and programs will enforce the applicable provisions of
the Montana statute relative to the release, registration, and notification requirements for sexual
and violent offenders.

II. APPLICABILITY
All divisions, facilities and programs Department-owned and contracted, as specified in contract.
III. DEFINITIONS

Release from Custody — Discharge of an offender outside the confines of a state correctional
facility, i.e., discharge, conditional release, parole, probation, prerelease, or other community
placement.

Sexual Offense — The offenses contained in the definition of that term under 46-23-502, MCA.

Sexual or Violent Offender — A person who has been convicted of or, in youth court, found to
have committed or been adjudicated for a sexual or violent offense.

Violent Offense — The offenses contained in the definition of that term under 46-23-502, MCA.

Youth Sexual or Violent Offender — A person who in youth court has been found to have
committed or been adjudicated for a sexual or violent offense.

IV. DEPARTMENT DIRECTIVES
A. Offender Registration Applicability

1. Registration provisions apply to the following:

a. adult sexual offenders who are sentenced or who are in custody or under the
supervision of the Department on or after July 1, 1989;

b. adult violent offenders who are sentenced or who are in the custody or under the
supervision of the Department on or after October 1, 1995;

c. youth sexual or violent offenders who committed the qualifying sexual or violent
offense before May 11, 2007 and who the youth court ordered to register as set forth
in the order of adjudication; and

d. youth sexual offenders who committed the qualifying sexual offense on or after May
11, 2007 and who the youth court did not specifically in the order of adjudication
exempt from the registration requirement.


http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/46/23/46-23-502.htm
http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/46/23/46-23-502.htm
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B. Registration of Sexual and Violent Offenders

1.

The Montana Department of Justice maintains the Sexual and Violent Offender Registry,
and information contained on the registry is disseminated according to 46-23-508, MCA.

The Department will follow 46-23-508, MCA when a sexual or violent offender under the
custody of the Department is released from Department custody by taking the following
actions:

a. atleast 10 days prior to release of a sexual or violent offender from custody, an
institutional probation and parole officer (IPPO) or youth correctional facility staff
will:

1) inform each sexual or violent offender in writing that when the offender is
released from custody, he or she has a statutory obligation to register with local
law enforcement within 3 business days of arrival in a county of this State and
that if the offender fails to register he or she can be charged with Felony Failure to
Register; and

2) record in the offender’s records the address where the offender intends to reside
upon release.

b. prior to a sexual or violent offender’s release from adult or youth facility custody, an
IPPO or youth correctional facility staff will provide to the Department of Justice and
the sheriff of the county in which an offender intends to reside, or, if an offender
intends to reside in a municipality, to the chief of police of the municipality:

1) the address at which the offender intends to reside upon release from custody;

2) the offender’s fingerprints and photo, unless they are already in the possession of
the Department of Justice, sheriff, or chief of police; and

3) aform signed by and read to or by the offender stating that the offender’s duty to
register under this part has been explained to the offender.

C. Sexual Offenders Without Risk Designation

1.

The Probation and Parole Bureau will identify adult and youth sexual offenders who are
on adult probation or parole and who are required to register but did not receive a level of
risk designation at the time of sentencing or time of release from a facility and will
submit a request to the appropriate county attorney’s office. The request will petition the
district court to assign a risk level designation to the offender and include a recommended
designation based on the psychosexual evaluation completed prior to sentencing or
adjudication.

The Department will provide notice prepared by treatment staff to the Department of
Justice and local law enforcement of the risk of re-offense by an adult or youth sexual
offender released from a state or private correctional facility according to the following:
a. when a tier-level assessment exists, the notice will indicate risk in accordance with
the following:
1) Level 1 — the risk of a repeat sexual offense is low;
2) Level 2 — the risk of a repeat sexual offense is moderate; and
3) Level 3 — the risk of a repeat sexual offense is high.
b. if a tier-level assessment does not exist, the Department will notify the Department of
Justice and local law enforcement that the offender was not given a tier level


http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/46/23/46-23-508.htm
http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/46/23/46-23-508.htm
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designation by the sentencing court and that no such assessment is on file with the
Department.

V. CLOSING
Questions concerning this policy should be directed to Department Legal Services Bureau.
VI. REFERENCES

A. 41-5-1513, MCA; 46-18-201(7), MCA; 46-18-255(2), MCA; 46-23-501, MCA; 46-23-502
MCA; 46-23-503, MCA; 46-23-504, MCA; 46-23-505, MCA; 46-23-506, MCA; 46-23-507,
MCA; 46-23-508, MCA; 46-23-509, MCA; 53-1-203, MCA

VII. ATTACHMENTS

SVOR Registration
SVOR Change of Information



http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/46/23/46-23-502.htm
http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/46/23/46-23-502.htm
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file://corhlncen16/HLN_CEN01_Data/Quality%20Assurance/Policy/Active%20Policy/Active%20Policy/Chapter%201/Section%205/1.5.10%20Registration%20of%20Sexual%20and%20Violent%20Offenders/Change%20of%20Information%202007(2).pdf

