The visiting privilege
Visiting at Treasure State is a privilege trainees must earn. During their 90- to 120-day stay in the program, trainees may earn three visits:
- The first and second visit may be authorized after a trainee has been in the program for more than 30 days, depending on his or her progress.
- The third visit is to attend graduation.
Approval to visit
Immediate family – Only immediate family members may visit. This includes a trainee’s mother, father, sister, brother, spouse (if common law, proof is required*) and children. A guardian or grandparent who has had significant involvement in a trainee’s upbringing may also be considered immediate family.
*Proof of common-law marriage includes:
- health insurance or life insurance policy listing each other as spouse
- tax return listing each other as spouse
- birth certificate for a child listing both trainee and spouse as parents
If you have questions, call the Administration Office at (406) 846-1320 ext. 2100.
Visiting application Each family member who wishes to visit must complete the Visiting Application. Minor children (under the age of 18) must be listed on the same form as their legal guardian. Mail completed applications to:
1100 Conley Lake Road
Deer Lodge, MT 59722
Applications must be approved in advance. A background check is conducted on all applicants. It takes approximately three to four weeks to process an application. Trainees are responsible for notifying family members when they have been approved and when the visit will take place.
Visitors must call the Administration Office at (406) 846-1320 ext. 2100 or ext. 2108 before 5 p.m. on the Thursday or Friday before your planned visit.
Conditions of visiting
Regular Sunday visits On the Sunday of your visit, drive to the Montana State Prison checkpoint. The checkpoint officer will direct you to park to the left of the checkpoint. Follow the TSCTC escort vehicle, which will lead you through the checkpoint and to the facility.
- Visitors 18 years and older must bring a picture ID.
- All visitors are subject to a pat or electronic search prior to visiting trainees.
- No more than four visitors, including children, may visit a trainee at one time.
- Children under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an approved adult.
What visitors can and can’t bring with them
- Visitors 18 years and older must bring a picture ID
- Visitors may bring vehicle keys and any necessary prescription medication, and nothing else.
- Visitors with infants may also bring a bag containing:
- three diapers
- a toy
- a baby’s bottle
- Visitors attending graduation are encouraged to bring:
- one change of clothing for the graduating trainee
- cameras to take photographs or to record the ceremony (NOTE: Cell phones are not permitted on prison/TSCTC property)
Prohibited items – In accordance with state law, weapons, alcohol and narcotics are prohibited on Montana State Prison property. In addition, use of tobacco products is not authorized on prison/TSCTC property. Visitors must keep all tobacco products in their vehicle at all times.
Special visits – While exceptions are rare, special visits by otherwise unapproved visitors, extended visits, or visits on non-visiting days may be approved by the Superintendent. Special visits may include, but are not limited to, prospective employers, release sponsors or parole advisors.
Graduation Visits – As with regular Sunday visiting, visitors for graduation:
- are limited to immediate family
- must be pre-approved through the Administration Office at (406) 846-1320 ext. 2100 on the Thursday or Friday before graduation
- are limited to four visitors per trainee
Graduations are typically held on specified Tuesdays at 10:00 a.m. (although they may be on other weekdays) and take place in the multi-purpose room. The trainee notifies a family member by phone, usually on a Wednesday evening, one week prior to his or her graduation date.
On the day of graduation, visitors must arrive at the Montana State Prison checkpoint no later than 8:45 a.m.
- Visitors who travel to the facility in a TSCTC van and are allowed a 45-minute visit with the graduating trainee prior to the ceremony.
- Children under 6 years old and/or weighing less than 60 lbs. must be transported to TSCTC in a legal car seat furnished by the child’s parents/guardian.
- Visitors are asked to bring one change of clothing for the graduating trainee.
- Visitors are permitted to bring cameras to take photographs or to video record the ceremony. (NOTE: Cell phones are not permitted on prison/TSCTC property)
Legal Visits – Attorney visits must be scheduled in advance with the Correctional Manager in accordance with the needs of the facility. Attorneys/legal representatives are treated the same as any other visitor and are required to follow the same visiting procedures.
- A confidential visiting area will be provided under the general supervision of staff, who will be able to observe the conduct of the visit without monitoring the discussion.
- If approved for a visit on a day other than a regularly scheduled Sunday visiting day, the attorney may travel to the facility in his or her personal vehicle in lieu of escort.
- Attorneys are only allowed to bring in things that pertain to the offender's legal visit. Brief cases will be opened and visually inspected. Attorneys should disclose if there are legal documents that the trainee must sign.
Reasons for denying or ending a visit
A visit may be denied or ended and visiting privileges suspended under the following circumstances:
- a visitor is under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- a visitor is found to be conveying contraband, is disruptive during the visiting process, or may be disruptive if admitted
- there is insufficient space in the visiting room
- a visitor refuses to submit to search procedures
- a visitor refuses or fails to produce sufficient picture identification, or falsifies identifying information
- the visitor or the trainee:
- violates facility/program rules
- fails to prevent children from disturbing others in the visiting area
- acts in a manner deemed by the visiting supervisor to be disruptive to visiting operations or to the secure and orderly operation of the facility.
- engages in inappropriate displays of affection, sexually inappropriate behavior, or is dressed inappropriately. Inappropriate dress includes revealing clothing, shorts, short dresses, tank tops and excessive jewelry.
Appropriate dress – Visitors are expected to dress appropriately and wear shoes and undergarments. Visitors who are inappropriately dressed will not be transported to TSCTC.