
Q: Why are my restitution checks always 

for different amounts? 

A: It’s possible the offender does not 

earn a consistent wage, lost his or her 

job or had a financial emergency. You 

may call the Department of Corrections 

(DOC) Collections Unit at (800) 801-

3478 for more information. 

Q: Why should I have to wait for my   

restitution just so the offender can pay 

his bills? 

A: Offenders on community supervision 

such as probation or parole must have a 

place to live, transportation to and from 

work, and money for food, clothing and 

medical care. Many have child support 

obligations. 

Q: The offender owes me $20,000 and he 

only pays $50 a month. How can I get 

him to pay more? 

A: You may call DOC at (406) 444-3930 

and ask to talk to his or her supervising 

officer or case manager. The offender 

may be paying all he can based on his 

income. Their criminal records often  

limit  offenders’ ability to find jobs that 

pay well. 

Q: My offender supposedly can’t pay       

restitution but I know he owns property. 

What can I do? 

A: If you believe that the offender has 

financial resources he may not have    

disclosed, call the DOC at (406) 444-

3930 and ask to talk to his or her super-

vising officer. Profits from the sale of 

real estate sometimes can be collected 

for restitution.  

Restitution Q and As 

“Laws for the punishment of crime 

shall be founded on the principles of 

prevention, reformation, public 

safety, and restitution for victims.”  

Montana Constitution  
Article II Section 8  

Crime Victim 

Restitution 

� Victims seldom receive restitution soon after the 

offender is sentenced unless he or she has       

financial resources such as property that can be 

sold, or bank accounts. 

� Restitution collection is often a slow process. It 

might be years before your first restitution check 

arrives.  

� Many offenders never pay the total amount of 

court-ordered restitution. 

� Prison jobs are scarce and do not pay much, so       

inmates may not have money for restitution. 

� Offenders on community supervision (prerelease,  

probation and parole) typically have low-paying 

jobs, so restitution amounts may be small. 

� Offenders must pay their monthly living         

expenses and any court-ordered child support 

before they make a restitution payment. 

� In crimes involving more than one victim,        

restitution payments are divided among them. If 

the offender committed more than one crime,  

victims receive restitution in the order that the 

crimes occurred. 

� Offenders are seldom sent to prison for not     

paying restitution and they cannot be forced to 

pay more than they are able. 

Restitution Realities 

A few words about victim compensation... 

The Montana Crime Vic�ms Compensa�on (CVC) fund 

under the A�orney General may pay up to $25,000 for 

crime-related medical bills, mental health counseling, and 

homicide vic�ms’ funeral expenses. 

The crime must be verified by law enforcement. 

The CVC does not reimburse for property loss or           

reloca�on costs.  

If you are awarded CVC, any court-ordered res�tu�on 

collected from the offender will go to reimburse the CVC 

fund up to the amount of compensa�on you received. 

Montana Department  
of  Correct ions  



The victim’s responsibility 

After an offender is sentenced, the 

Department of Corrections (DOC) 

usually receives from the courts or 

county attorney the paperwork it 

needs to begin enforcing the           

restitution order. 

 If the judge awarded you restitution 

and you have not received any checks, 

contact the DOC Collections Unit at 

(800) 801-3478 to check on the status 

of your restitution. 

You must notify the Collections Unit 

if your address changes. The unit has 

a large amount of restitution that is 

undeliverable because victims have 

not reported their current addresses. 

Know whether the offender is in   

prison or prerelease, or on probation 

or parole. Register for the free VINE 

service to receive phone, email or  

text message notifications about the     

offender. To register, log onto 

www.vinelink.com, call VINE at  

(800) 456-3076 or download the free 

VINE mobile app. 

SOURCES OF RESTITUTION 

The duty to pay full restitution    

ordered by the sentencing judge   

remains with the offender or the  

offender's estate until full restitu-

tion is paid, whether or not the of-

fender is under Department of Cor-

rections (DOC) supervision. 

Under Montana law, payment of   

restitution is a condition of any    

probation or parole. 

An offender’s obligation to pay    

victim restitution does not go away 

if he or she files bankruptcy.  

A restitution order can be enforced 

against the estate of an offender 

who dies while owing restitution. 

Possible sources of money from    

offenders for victim restitution    

include: 

� Earned income, including        

voluntary or forced wage         

garnishment  

� Bank accounts 

� Profits from sale of real estate 

and other property 

� Tribal per capita payments 

� Prison inmate trust accounts 

� Money offenders receive as gifts 

from friends and family 

� State income tax refunds 

� Profits from the sale of crafts and 

artwork 

Restitution is the offender’s debt to you, the victim, 

for your losses caused by the crime. Montana law    

 (46-18-241, MCA) entitles you to full restitution for 

expenses resulting from the crime.  

Expenses include: 

• Medical and dental bills 

• Mental health counseling 

• Stolen or damaged property 

• Lost wages  

• Travel and relocation costs 

• Future expenses related to the crime 

• Funeral costs for homicide victims 

Determining the actual amount of your loss will be 

easier if you keep copies of bills and receipts, and a 

list of all expenses related to the crime. 

Give copies of these records to the county attorney in 

charge of your case or a county victim advocate, who 

may ask you to fill out forms. Complete and return 

these forms as soon as possible, and be sure to make 

copies for yourself. 

Offenders work out payment schedules with their 

supervising officers. Payments go to the Department 

of Corrections (DOC) Collections Unit, which sends 

the money to victims either quarterly or when there 

is at least $25 to send.  

The offenders, rather than Montana taxpayers, fund 

the Collections Unit with a 10 percent charge on top 

of the restitution owed. The unit collects and disburs-

es millions of dollars to victims every year. Make 

sure the Collections Unit has your current address. 

Call (800) 801-3478 to make changes. 

The Basics of Restitution 

WHO TO CONTACT FOR WHAT:WHO TO CONTACT FOR WHAT:WHO TO CONTACT FOR WHAT:WHO TO CONTACT FOR WHAT:    

⇒ Res�tu�onRes�tu�onRes�tu�onRes�tu�on    : (800) 801: (800) 801: (800) 801: (800) 801----3478347834783478    

⇒ Department of Correc�ons Vic�m Department of Correc�ons Vic�m Department of Correc�ons Vic�m Department of Correc�ons Vic�m 

Services: (888) 223Services: (888) 223Services: (888) 223Services: (888) 223----6332633263326332    

⇒ VINE: (800) 456VINE: (800) 456VINE: (800) 456VINE: (800) 456----3076307630763076    


